8 Petal Lotus Meaning

The key to understanding the meaning of the eight petal lotus is to think about how these flowers bloom.

All lotus flowers are renowned for their ability to grow in murky, muddy waters of lakes, ponds, and rivers. Yet, they still have the ability to open up each morning and emerge without any blemishes or imperfections.

This is one of the reasons why this flower has been a spiritual and sacred symbol throughout many cultures dating as far back as the ancient Egyptians.

That’s why there has to be something special about these blooms and what they represent, which is what we’re here to find out.

Scroll down to learn more.

The Meaning of the 8 Petal Lotus

Below you’ll find some of the most popular symbols of the lotus flower.


As mentioned above, the eight petal lotus opens up in the morning with breathtaking beauty. Taking into account the muddy waters it’s growing in, it’s hard not to be in awe.

Not only that, but the lotus flower has this mesmerizing ability to close its petals with the setting sun. Then, at the beginning of a new day, its petals open up one by one.

It emerges each day from muddy waters, which symbolize pain and suffering, to reach wisdom, inner peace, and spiritual enlightenment.

Thus, the lotus flower represents our ability to break free of challenging circumstances and overcome the material world.

It’s become an icon of resilience, freedom, and hope for better things to come.

Yellow lotus


In Buddhism, the eight petal lotus is a representation of the Noble Eightfold Path. Consisting of eight practices that lead from a life of strife and hardship to a path of enlightenment and spiritual awakening, this path aims to promote mental discipline, wisdom, and ethical behavior.

Through this spiritual path to enlightenment, we’re able to reach a stage of true spiritual awakening.

Hence, this bloom is often seen as a symbol of a Buddhist’s eight stages of enlightenment.

Eight petal lotuses are also regarded as representations of purity and innocence.

Another thing worth pointing out is that in the Mahayana sect of Buddhism, it’s believed that all souls emerge from the center of a lotus flower.

Also Check: 9 Petal Lotus Meaning


As stated earlier, the eight petal lotus flower closes its petals in the evening only to open them up again as the sun rises. This is an embodiment of our rebirth and the ability to re-emerge from a life of hardship and strife into one of beauty and hope.

It’s also worth mentioning that when the flower opens up in the morning, the petals move slowly and take their time to open up. They also don’t open up all at once, but one by one, each one patiently waiting its turn to greet the new day.

This gradual process symbolizes the eight steps required to reach true spiritual enlightenment. It also encourages us not to rush but to take our time understanding our surroundings and learning more about ourselves.

Only then can we truly achieve a real sense of tranquility, peace, and awakening.


Remaining true to yourself and your core values is another symbol of the eight petal lotus. Despite being surrounded by muddy waters, it continues to bloom day after day without being affected by its gloomy, dismal surroundings.

Likewise, we should have enough resolve, inner strength, and confidence to remain true to ourselves regardless of what’s happening around us.

In addition, many sources of spiritual literature depict the lotus as a representation of both the macrocosm and the microcosm. In other words, it’s the embodiment of the divinity found in the universe as well as the divinity of man.


In Hinduism, references to the lotus flower, especially the eight petal variety, can be traced back to 1400 BC.

These delicate blooms are typically associated with prosperity, fertility, and eternity. Almost all Hindu gods and goddesses are usually depicted with the lotus flower.

One example is the goddess of health, wealth, and prosperity, Lakshmi. She’s often portrayed as seated on top of an 8 petal lotus flower and holding lotus blooms in two of her four hands. This signifies our ability to liberate himself from material attachments.

Another example is the four-faced deity, Brahma. It’s believed that he emerged from a lotus flower, symbolizing growth, purification of the spirit, and knowledge.

The Colors of the 8 Petal Lotus Flower

While the flower itself may conjure up a variety of symbols and meanings, each color also represents something different.

Take a look.


The white eight petal lotus flower is a symbol of inner peace, a sense of internal balance, and spiritual perfection. In Buddhism, this is known as ‘Bodhi,’ which is the state of complete mental purity.


Blue lotus

Eight petal blue lotus flowers represent the victory of the spirit over the senses. As such, it symbolisizes knowledge and intelligence, and is often depicted as the embodiment of the ‘perfection of wisdom.’


The red lotus symbolizes humanity, passion, and gentleness. It’s a representation of the original nature of the heart with its ability to love, empathize, and care deeply for others.

Thus, red lotus flowers are also known as the ‘flower of compassion.’


The purple lotus flower is believed to hold mystical meanings mainly because it’s the rarest of all colors. It also symbolizes inner peace and self-enlightenment


According to Buddha, pink is considered to be the ‘true’ color of the lotus flower. It’s regarded as the ‘supreme’ lotus of all the colors.

Golden Yellow

Then you have the highest level of the spiritual path when you’re finally able to achieve true enlightenment. This highest level of spirituality is represented by the gold lotus.

Read more: Everything You Need to Know About Bitterroot Flower Meaning

To Wrap Up

The lotus flower has been considered a spiritual icon for many cultures and regions throughout history. Even today, it continues to be thought of as a sacred and iconic plant.

With its ability to emerge unblemished from murky waters, its symbolism reaches far beyond its physical beauty, particularly when referring to the various meanings of the eight petal lotus.