5 Petal Lotus Meaning

Lotus flowers have been a symbol of spiritual awakening and mysticism in numerous religious sects and cultures.

They’re also just so aesthetically appealing! Not to mention that the way the petals open each morning and then close up at night is simply fascinating.

This almost magical ability symbolizes rebirth, hope, and enlightenment, just to name a few. Today, we’re focusing more on the five petal lotus and what it represents.

Let’s get started.

The 5 Petal Lotus Flower and Its Meanings

Check out some of the most popular meanings of the five petal lotus flower.

Chinese Culture

In Chinese culture, the Lotus is a symbol of dignity and honor. It also represents purity, rebirth, and divine spirituality.

This sacred flower, especially the five-petaled variety, is seen as supreme and mighty. The fact that it grows in muddy waters yet still manages to remain untouched and unchanged by the impurities around it highlights its strength and resilience.

As a result, water became the embodiment of imperfection and earthly desires. On the other hand, the lotus was recognized as a symbol of goodness, honesty, and becoming unattached from a life of desire and sin.

Furthermore, but the Chinese also revered its ability to close up its petals at night only to reawaken with the rising sun. They took this to symbolize beauty and spiritual awakening. It’s a direct representation of man’s ability to transcend worldly matters, come out of suffering, and open his heart to divine light.

Pink Lotus

The 5 Teachings of Vajradhatu

The most common meaning of the five petal lotus is that it represents the five teachings of Vajradhatu. Established by Chogyam Trungpa Rinpoche in 1973, this was one of the first organizations to visit the West and begin spreading the teachings of Buddhism.

Rinpoche, which means ‘Precious Jewel,’ was a preeminent scholar of Tibetan Buddhism and a master of Tibetan Buddhist meditation practices.

Upon his arrival in North America in 1970, Rinpoche headed to Vermont where he set up a center to teach his ideologies. A few years later, he laid the foundations for what would become Vajradhatu.

It was through this organization that he preached the five sets of knowledge. It’s believed that these five aspects facilitate the process of deep meditation and spiritual awakening.

Then, the final step is to attain the Buddha’s body to achieve eternal enlightenment.

The five categories of knowledge are as follows:

  1. Get in touch with the basic mind: this is to reach the self-realization that our minds aspire to achieve enlightenment.
  2. Put into practice the aspirations of the mind: this involves the gradual cultivation of the mind that aspires to be awakened.
  3. Attain the ‘Vajra’ mind: through the process of cultivation, the mind becomes rigid and firm like a diamond.
  4. Attest to the ‘Vajra’ body: this is the realization that the Buddha lies within the mind and body.
  5. The complete fulfillment of the Buddha body: known as the ‘Vajra State of Mind,’ this aspect is attained with the realization that our minds and bodies share the same essence as that of the Buddha. Therefore, by finally reaching eternal enlightenment, we complete the process of becoming a Buddha but in our own bodies.

A Spiritual Journey

Lotus flowers can represent different things to different people. Although, the one thing all species have in common, including the five petal variety, is that they represent one’s path toward enlightenment.

Read more: 7 Petal Lotus Meaning and Symbolism

Yoga and Meditation

That’s why the lotus flower is a part of so many meditation and yoga practices. You’ve probably noticed the lotus design on yoga mats, towels, drinking bottles, and more.

The symbol of the lotus flower in yoga is usually represented by five large petals at the forefront. This image generally represents strength, health, spirituality, and wakefulness.

There’s even a position in yoga called the ‘Lotus Pose,’ which translates into Sanskrit as Padmasana. This position helps re-energize the body, release pent-up stress, and calm the mind.

Lotus Yoga pose

It also offers other health benefits, such as developing correct posture, easing sciatica pain and discomfort, and working to keep the joints flexible.


The lotus flower is also a common design used in many tattoos. It can be a great way to remind oneself to stay humble and seek more balance in the different aspects of your life.

Lotus tattoos are often used to represent compassion, empathy, and gratefulness. They can also help you stay focused on your spiritual journey, even when going through a difficult time.

Here are a few meanings a lotus tattoo can represent:

  • New beginnings where you approach everything in life with an open mind and a hopeful heart
  • Ascending from the darkness into the light much like the lotus flower rises each morning from the murky waters unblemished
  • Humility
  • Respect
  • Self-love


Lotus flowers are also used in the artistic expression of the divine energies and practices of Buddhism in what we call mandalas. It’s worth mentioning that the name ‘mandala’ is derived from the Sanskrit word for ‘circle.’

In Hinduism and Buddhism, this symbolic diagram is often used as an instrument of meditation and when performing sacred rites.

In these images, the lotus symbolizes the Buddhist Womb Realm. It’s also used to represent the Buddhist Parameshwara ceremony seen in the Nava Padma Mandala.

Hence, the lotus flower mandala is a symbol of rebirth and awakening. It also represents the pure nature of the soul and mind.

While there are countless design ideas for the lotus mandala, there are only five main categories:

  • Ganesha Yantra Lotus Mandala
  • Sri Yantra Lotus Mandala
  • Trident Yantra Lotus Mandala
  • Nava Padma Mandala
  • Garbhadhatu Mandala

Related: 8 Petal Lotus Meaning

Closing Thoughts

It’s clear how much lotus flowers have been ingrained into cultures and religions throughout history. Even today, more and more people are realizing the deep symbolism associated with this mystical flower.

The five petal lotus, in particular, has deep-seated cultural and spiritual significance. Hence, it’s able to connect many interrelated themes that seem to spread out and overlap.

So, the next time you spot a five petal lotus, take a minute to consider how much this flower has helped billions of people continue on their path to spiritual enlightenment.